SiteGround vs HostGator vs Hostinger

SiteGround logo
9.2/10
HostGator logo
6.5/10
Hostinger logo
9.5/10
Price
$3.95 / month $2.75 / month $7.99 / month
Free domain Free domain Free domain
User Ratings
Reliability 10/10 Reliability 5.0/10 Reliability 9.0/10
Pricing 6.0/10 Pricing 7.5/10 Pricing 9.8/10
User friendly 10/10 User friendly 6.0/10 User friendly 9.5/10
Support 10/10 Support 7.0/10 Support 9.3/10
Features 10/10 Features 7.0/10 Features 9.7/10
Summary
Paul Mahony. Chief Editor, Wpml Manage Translation Management, Wpml Manage Languages, Wpml Manage Theme And Plugin Localization, Wpml Manage Support, Wpml Manage Woocommerce Multilingual, Wpml Operate Woocommerce Multilingual, Wpml Manage Media Translation, Wpml Manage Navigation, Wpml Manage Sticky Links, Wpml Manage String Translation, Wpml Manage Translation Analytics, Wpml Manage Wp Menus Sync, Wpml Manage Taxonomy Translation, Wpml Manage Troubleshooting, Wpml Manage Translation Options, Manage Translations profile image
Paul Mahony. Chief Editor, Wpml Manage Translation Management, Wpml Manage Languages, Wpml Manage Theme And Plugin Localization, Wpml Manage Support, Wpml Manage Woocommerce Multilingual, Wpml Operate Woocommerce Multilingual, Wpml Manage Media Translation, Wpml Manage Navigation, Wpml Manage Sticky Links, Wpml Manage String Translation, Wpml Manage Translation Analytics, Wpml Manage Wp Menus Sync, Wpml Manage Taxonomy Translation, Wpml Manage Troubleshooting, Wpml Manage Translation Options, Manage Translations

Hostinger must be one of the biggest surprises I’ve had the pleasure of encountering. While reviewing it, I had to constantly ask myself why would anyone choose anything BUT Hostinger for their shared hosting needs. It’s the cheapest, fastest and most responsive shared web hosting platform I’ve ever tested.

There are countless features which I absolutely loved. Hostinger custom-written information sources, like tutorials and knowledge base articles. They seem to value their customers and want them to learn. Almost every tool or feature in Hostinger arsenal is custom-built, which leads me to believe that Hostinger itself was created out of pure passion.

User reviews
Paid $65 for the first 3 years with them.. after coming back i've realised they've shot prices up to take advantage of us without informing me? Apprently i owe over $300 when renewed? A JOKE. We are moving away, we have spoken to Speedy*** who have been very helpful and honest and will give us an amazing service just like siteground (fingers crossed). Try Speed***, stay away from siteground who are very money hungry.
Haha, feeling like an idiot when I’m the one who actually loves HostGator. I took upon them because they’re a well known name and so far had no problems. It’s decent at least.
I've bought a business shared account on hostinger in November. There are a lot of problems with it. Technical problems: 1. It's true what other people are saying about CPanel, it's not really CPanel it'a a custom version with fewer options, even for my business plan. 2. They have an import feature in the CPanel which says that you upload your archive of the site and it will be automatically extracted in the public_html. I have tried a lot of times to upload a drupal archive downloaded from the drupal.org site, 13MB archive, without any success. The page remained at uploading and that's it. 3. They have 2 file managers, file manager 1 that looks more modern but you cannot edit every text file if it doesn't have some specific extension like php, css, or js. If it's a web.config file you have no option of editing it. The File Manager 2 it look like it was written in 1998 with some strange phpFtp extension and usage. 4. Working with the file system is hard, it really takes a lot of time to write files. Coming back to uploading an archive. I have managed to upload a 50MB drupal arhive using the File Manager 1. It took almost half an hour (and it's not my internet connection, I have a pretty good one). Trying to extract the archive using the File Manager 1 it was impossible. After one and a half minute I would get an Ajax error (I guess it is due to the timeouts that they have) and the extraction was left in an intermediate state, but nevertheless useless. I tried the operation over and over again with the same result. After connecting using ssh and trying the extract it from the command line the extraction went like hiccups, meaning it would extract a batch then froze for a while then another batch and so on. Eventually it was extracted by hand. 5. MySql import was impossible using the PHPMyAdmin interface. The MySql dump created from another hoting provider (which is was really small I mind you) it was impossible to import. I keept geting timeout. Again I needed to import it using the command line from the ssh connection. Support problems: 1. I have written to customer support about all these problems and the average response time was 4 days!!! They have the option of getting the support in your language or if you check an option and write the request in english they say that their english support team will try so solve your issues as quick as possible. All of my tickets were placed twice both in my own language and in english using the special option to no avail. I think it worth mentioning that I haven't received any response to my English tickets, but after I received a response in my own language I would get a message to the English version that I have already received a response to this in my other ticket. 2. When I made the purchase, the business plan had the 'Deluxe Live Support' feature. I wasn't able to find any 'Live support' link in my account and after inquiring them about this they said that there is no live support so they were asking me where have I seen this on their site to correct that information. Going back to the offer there were no 'Deluxe live support' option anymore only a 'Deluxe support'. I asked them again what is the Deluxe support I am entitled to and I have received no answer to this day (this was over one month ago). Suspect behavoiur: 1. Afer getting my sites up and running without any of their help, after 3 weeks they stopped working. Not that the site themselves were not accessible anymore, but the background tasks that needed some Mysql variables beeing set at higher values, were getting 'MySql has gone away' error at each run. Checking these variables in the console, they were set at ridiculously low values, they were even lower than the minimum Drupal requirements specified on the Drupal.org site. Contacting again the customer support I received the message that these variables were not modified and if I need these variables at higher values I should order a VPS instead. I replied that these variables are lower than the minimum requirements for Drupal to be running (for example max_allowed_packet set to 8MB instead of 16MB the minimum for drupal), they replied that in fact it is 16MB. Checking again this value it was of course 8MB and after another message, this value was set to 16MB. Worth mentioning that my sites are still not running. Another problem might be that the mysql timeout was set initially to 10 seconds, now it is 5 seconds. My conclusion, and I might be wrong but considering my experience I don't have any other idea, is that they sell you something, they try to keep it running for the first 30 days so that you would not request your money back, and after that they modify some server values to cripple your site, proposing you to upgrade to a (more costly) VPS. I woudl NOT recommend this hosting, not even to my enemy!! :)
Features
Worldwide Accessibility 99.99% Uptime Best for WordPress
Best Customer Experience Unlimited Plans Fastest Servers
Visit SiteGroundVisit HostGatorVisit Hostinger