Hostinger Reviews by Users & Experts

Overall Rating:
9.4
Performance
10.0/10
Pricing
9.0/10
User friendly
10.0/10
Support
8.0/10
Features
10.0/10

Hostinger reviews are based on the information taken from their website, real user experience and expert insights. As stated on Hostinger website, company is created in 2004, and is known as the best cheap web hosting provider. The idea behind Hostinger is simple – to empower everyone to unlock the world of WWW by providing the tools to do so. Back then, the company found a loophole in the market and made use of it. They started off by creating a free web hosting platform 000webhost.com and quickly became the most popular free web hosting provider. This then led them to perfect their paid services, therefore, now, I can say that their shared hosting platform is made of high-quality features at the lowest price in the industry.

Their vision is to create a reliable, developer-friendly web hosting service with top-notch features, fast speed and effective Customer Support for the price affordable to everyone.

The minimum amount of money spent on marketing and staffing, allows the company to easily perfect the product and services. The company currently has over 200 employees around the world and 8 data centers.

hostinger reviews

Let’s see if any of this is true.

Hostinger Services

Hostinger essentially has 4 main web hosting services:

  • Shared web hosting
  • VPS hosting
  • Domain registration
  • SSL certificates

Hostinger shared hosting is designed to suit intermediate web hosting users who don’t feel like investing all of the budget into hosting solutions. Hostinger has their own unique cloud infrastructure which allows them to offer these services at very low prices without sacrificing any performance.

VPS Services

At first glance, Hostinger VPS hosting offers a reasonable variety of packages to choose from, each of them having a different set of features. I was hesitating right from the start because only 1 IPv4 address is provided on either one of VPS packages.

However, I must confess – I have been using Hostinger VPS user for quite some time now, and their performance has been on point right from the start.

Domain Registration

When it comes to their Domain Registrar evaluation, there is only one aspect you need to check – ICANN Accreditation list:

Hostinger reviews

This list simply confirms whether or not the domain registrar is certified or is it simply ‘reselling’ domain names from other registrars. As you can see, Hostinger has been a fully certified domain registrar since early 2013.

While surfing Hostinger website and doing its analysis, I noticed a few added value features which don’t seem to require you to pay anything extra:

Hostinger Reviews & Tutorials

Hostinger reviews

Custom written Hostinger reviews and tutorials seem like a nice tool to teach a new generation of web enthusiasts. Hostinger offers a massive list of over 500 tutorials about website development, server management, and various CMS guides. Most importantly – all of these tutorials come completely free, and you don’t even need to own a Hostinger account in order to read them.

Affiliate Program

Affiliate programs are quite common in today’s web hosting industry. Hostinger is no exception, and it seems to follow the most basic affiliate system – banners. The most distinct difference is that Hostinger offers full 100% commission for each shared web hosting purchase which definitely brings them up in the competition.

Website Builder

For such users who prefer their websites to be built with ease, custom website builder is a must. Luckily, all Hostinger packages have this feature included together with over 200 website templates. I’ve fooled around with Hostinger website builder for a bit, and while it does lack in customization options, it surely gets the job done.

Smart Domain Availability Checker

I know this may seem to be meaningless by today’s standards, but honestly – I have never seen such a great domain name suggestion tool. I was there just checking whether or not ‘awesome.com’ domain was available and it gave me a full list of even better and much more hilarious domain choices!


It’s quite clear that Hostinger designed its services for newcomers and intermediate website owners. All of the available features are perfectly suited for small project start-ups or local business owners who do not want to spend a fortune on hiring web developers separately.

It’s obvious that shared hosting service is the key product which defines Hostinger brand. This is why I’ve chosen to test one of Hostinger cheap web hosting services.

Hostinger Summer Sale!

There are 3 plans to choose from – and right now, this summer, they’re absolutely sublime! Have a look:

  • Single – Optimal package, designed for 1 small website.
  • Premium – Intermediate package for multiple websites.
  • Business – The ultimate package suited for multiple high-traffic websites.

The prices are so low because on August 3rd, 2018, Hostinger has launched a surprise Summer Sale, during which the prices go down a whopping 80%!

Using our link on the sidebar, you can still be one of the lucky ones to get Hostinger services starting from only $0.80 a month! So check it out if you’re interested – or keep on reading to see what those 80 cents, 88 cents or $1.44 will get you.

To fully understand each one of the mentioned packages and compare them, I’ve listed all the features in the table format:

SinglePremiumBusiness
Disk space limit10GBUnlimitedUnlimited
Bandwidth limit100GBUnlimitedUnlimited
How many domains allowed1UnlimitedUnlimited
SSD or HDD used in serversSSDSSDSSD
SSLSupported, not included in the package.Supported, not included in the package.Supported, included in the package.
Anti-DDoS protectionIncludedIncludedIncluded
Anti-malware protectionIncludedIncludedIncluded
Email accounts100 per domain100 per domain
100 per domain
FTP accountsUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Website BuilderIncludedIncludedIncluded
Website Templates200+200+200+
Assisted Website TransferIncludedIncludedIncluded
cPanelIncludedIncludedIncluded
Auto-installerincludedIncludedIncluded
Auto-installer scripts100+100+100+
Money back guarantee30 days30 days30 days
Customer Support24/7 live chat, email24/7 live chat, email24/7 live chat, email
Choice for server locationIncludedIncludedIncluded
Free Automated BackupsWeeklyWeeklyDaily

On top of all that, all of the packages include Anti-theft security system (BitNinja) and email anti-spam tool (SpamAssassin).

Full Pricing Overview

Now, when looking at the pricing of the packages, it’s good to note that Hostinger plan prices do not change upon renewals. The prices always stay the same, no matter which package or payment period you choose.

It’s a common practice between hosting providers to display their prices in a ‘monthly’ manner. This way, those prices look much more appealing and cheaper than they actually are:

Hostinger reviews

As you can see, it simply shows you the relative monthly price, but you would still need to pay the full sum for 24 months in advance. In order to clarify the whole pricing structure I’ve put all the individual prices on this table:

Payment PeriodSinglePremiumBusiness
1 monthNot availableNot availableNot available
3 months$11.97$26.52$35.97
6 months$21.30$41.04$65.94
12 months$39.00$70.08$119.88
24 months$68.40$116.16$215.04
36 months$77.40$138.24$286.20
48 months$103.20$167.52$381.60

*All of these prices exclude VAT, which means that if you are purchasing this service from Europe, the final price will go up by 21%.


In terms of features, you can clearly see that ‘Single’ web hosting package is the one which differs the most. It is quite limited considering that it was designed to be suited for only 1 website.

The other two packages gave me a pleasant surprise as they are fully stocked with exclusive features like free Anti-theft and Malware Protection systems, free automated backups and free assisted website transfers. Not to mention a free top-level domain if you go for the yearly subscription.

I’ve encountered countless of hosts which tend to offer these essential features as paid add-ons. Regardless, Hostinger is going all-in and giving their clients everything for the base price of the package!


As for the prices, it is quite straightforward, – you choose the package, then choose the subscription period and pay the same renewal price every X months.

If we were to compare the basic 12-month price of Premium Hostinger package with the HostGator Baby plan, which is the equivalent to Hostinger Premium, you could see a significant difference in pricing:

Hostinger ‘Premium’ package

Hostinger reviews

HostGator ‘Baby’ package

Hostinger reviews

If we were to add a domain registration plus automated backups (all of which are included in Hostinger Premium package by default), the price of Hostgator plan would go up to $147/year. It’s double the price of what you would pay for Hostinger Premium plan!

Hostinger reviews

You can clearly see that Hostinger has won me over with the full stack of features and added-value features. Now it’s time to forward and evaluate Hostinger customer service!

Hostinger Customer Success

Hostinger goes from strength to strength

Hostinger reviews show that Hostinger follows one of the latest trends of renaming their customer support department into Customer Success. Arguably, this makes customer service agents feel as if they could become your true ‘success ambassadors’. Cheesy, perhaps – but this is a good step for ensuring that customer service representatives get the respect they deserve. This validation and improvement method used by a large number of web-based companies and Hostinger is in the front of the pack.

Hostinger offers two communication channels with their clients and visitors:

  • Live Chat Support
  • Ticket/Email Support

From the looks of things, Hostinger seems to be lacking in phone support. This is definitely a disadvantage for many users who prefer direct phone contact over anything else. As for me, though, – I prefer the live chat communication since it’s much easier to share technical information (like lines of code or even a difficult domain name) without spelling each letter to the agent. Believe me, it can get quite frustrating! Try spelling “couturenecessity.se” on a phone and you’ll see what I mean.

Chat Service Evaluation

When evaluating the chat service, I prefer to check a few things: agents’ knowledge on various subjects, response time and of course, the human factor – writing manners and such. In order to get the best (or worst!) out of the customer service, I contacted the live chat about a technical issue that I had.

This is where I was pleasantly surprised. Hostinger’s live chat was very good, to begin with, but in mid-2018, a massive update was done, making it an even better experience.

In many ways, this reminds of chatting with a friend who knows loads about hosting. For registered users, the entire chat history is logged and can be accessed anytime. And you may want that, because Hostinger customer success agents may really give you a lot of good tips and encouragement. For instance, let’s see my chat with Heiko.

The wait times were also really decent – I never had to wait more than 2 minutes to get someone to speak to me. And of course, I may be repeating myself, but I really like that now I can access all of the chats done in the past. If you get good advice from a chat service agent, it stays with you forever!

And overall, talking with other customer service agents, I got a feeling that Hostinger is doing a seriously good job of keeping them both knowledgeable and happy. In terms of a human factor, this is perhaps the best provider I have encountered. Overall – the way it is now, Hostinger live chat experience in 2018 is even better than it used to be.

However, not everything is ideal. As of January 2018, Hostinger has actually disabled the chat for unregistered users, meaning that likely clients will only be able to get answers via a support ticket. This went in line with the company’s Black Friday sale, which reduced the price of the services by 90% in some instances. Does this mean that Hostinger received so many new clients, they couldn’t possibly keep up with the demand? Looks very likely. As for now, it’s quite disappointing – I hope this step back in only temporary and soon we’ll see full live chat enabled for everyone who wants it.

First Impressions

“BitCoin acceptance is just another example of Hostinger being on top of their game”

Hostinger account activation procedure is quite simple. In the cart, all you’d need to do is choose your package (and domain name, if you’re getting one), then proceed to the payment submission step.

Hostinger billing system offers 3 payment options – Credit Card, PayPal and…BitCoin!

Hostinger reviews

BitCoin is becoming increasingly popular in online purchases, but you don’t see a lot of companies embracing this as a payment method. BitCoin acceptance is just another example of Hostinger being on top of their game.

As soon as you choose the suitable payment option, an external payment API shows up. It allows you to enter your credit card, PayPal or Bitpay (payment processor, which allows you to submit payment using Bitcoin currency) details directly.

“My domain was already showing the default ‘index’ page within 5 minutes of entering my credit card details”

Once the payment was submitted, I was greeted with a ‘success’ window which later redirected me to the account’s setup page. There, I had to enter my contact details in order for the domain registration to complete. The last step conveniently displayed my options for setting up the initial website:

Considering the low price of this host, I was expecting to wait hours until the account became fully active. Once again, – I was greeted with a pleasant surprise.

Both, – the domain and hosting services were activated instantly and my domain was already showing the default ‘index’ page within 5 minutes of entering my credit card details. I know that even in the perfect circumstances newly-registered domains need to go through a full DNS propagation cycle before becoming active worldwide. With some registrars this could even take 24 hours! Surprisingly this wasn’t the case with Hostinger.

Now, instead of using any of the offered website building tools, I went on to check and evaluate Hostinger custom cPanel:

“Considering the fact that all the added value features were already included in the base package, there weren’t many upselling offers nagging me to buy something”

I must confess. I absolutely love the old-school cPanel structure. It seems that Hostinger took the classic cPanel layout and simply re-designed it to give more visually appealing and sophisticated look.kg

On the left side, you have the usual resource usage & specifications table which shows account’s real-time resource levels.

At the top of the panel lies navigational options for quickly accessing domain, VPS, SSL and affiliates control panels, also including the billing section where you could review the account’s current payment statuses and other related options.

In the base, you can see the hub for all the host’s features starting with email management panels, ending with ‘Git’ implementation system. All of the features are conveniently categorized and shown in order of popularity.

On the bottom-right corner, you can see Hostinger mascot – ‘the tiny dragon’, kindly offering help. At first, I thought that it was just a shortcut for accessing Hostinger live chat. But I was only partially correct:

This seems to be a separate guiding tool where you could search for informational articles about Hostinger service. If you can’t find the information you need, it offers you an option to open a chat window with one of Hostinger customer service agents.


I have to say that I was very surprised with all the sophistication and visual appeal of Hostinger control panels. They were slick, they didn’t give me any hard time of finding the things I needed, and most of all – everything was responsive and fast.

Considering the fact that all the added value features were already included in the base package, there weren’t many upselling offers nagging me to buy something. In fact, I only saw one which urged me to purchase an SSL certificate which, I think, is quite reasonable considering that websites without SSL certificates couldn’t do any marketing these days.

Performance Evaluation

“I must say, even I didn’t expect to see complete 100% uptime on a low-cost web hosting provider”

So far, Hostinger has won me over in almost every aspect with its easy-to-use & good-looking design, fast activation and responsive navigation, and most of all – best value I’ve seen in awhile.

Now it’s time for the most important Hostinger evaluation, – performance. I shall test it all:

  • Host’s speed during low upkeep
  • Host’s speed with a website created with Hostinger website builder
  • Server’s overall uptime
  • Anti-theft security evaluation

Some of the tests I will be performing will be ongoing over the course of few months, which means that this review will be updated every now and then in order to give you the latest results.

IMPORTANT NOTICE – the speed test tools I will be using in this paragraph can’t be 100% correct as they still depend on their own servers’ (access points) speeds. I have used Bitcatcha tool to check packet travel speeds all around the globe as their tool seems to be the most consistent. Furthermore, to acquire results as accurately as possible, I’ve tested the website at least 10 times in quick succession and then I’ve chosen the most average test result out of all of them to show in this review.

Host Speed During Low Upkeep

This part will consist of me, testing the website’s response time with a simple HTML website. Simple HTML websites do not require many of the host’s resources and theoretically should return the best speed results.

I’ve used Hostinger custom web-based File Manager (which frankly was quite convenient) to upload my sample html code, and here is my low-upkeep HTML website:

Hostinger HTML website performance review

Now let’s see how it holds up in terms of speed:

I used the Bitcatcha tool to check packet travel speeds all around the globe. Here are the results:

Hostinger reviews

Many hosting providers generally suffer from 2 or 3 locales underperforming so much, it ruins the overall worldwide performance by quite a bit. Most often, the locations include Bangalore and Singapre. Here, Hostinger servers are also the slowest to react to commands coming from these locations – but the times are not really bad.

Under 400 ms in all instances guarantees a smooth performance to all of your visitors, even without using a dedicated worldwide content delivery network (CDN). The speed across all locations around the globe is quite consistent. This means that the servers are powerful enough to give suitable access speeds even to the far-away visitors.

NOTE – This particular account was set up on Hostinger US servers. Keep in mind that Hostinger has 4 data center locations to choose from – UK, US, Singapore and Brazil. So these values would shift accordingly with each choice.

Speed with a website builder

Now I shall test how optimized are the websites which have been built with Hostinger own website builder.

Here is the website I’ve managed to create with the builder:

Now, let’s see how the speed of the website was affected by this amazing content:

Hostinger website builder speed test

As you can clearly see, the speed wasn’t affected too much. A small drop in performance was to be expected, but a couple milliseconds is definitely not too significant.

Hostinger website builder not only allows you to edit a website to a point of madness – it will also optimize the madness for all of your worldwide needs.

Server Overall Uptime

NOTE – This section of the review will constantly be updated with new and latest information.

It is incredibly important to make sure your website isn’t down often. After all, your visitors may be alright with the page loading a fraction of a second slower – not so much with it being offline all the time! Therefore, we set up our trust Uptime Robot tool and tracked a regular WordPress website’s performance once every minute.

In addition to measuring downtimes, this tool will also be a great help in seeing just how stable the response times are. If that interests you, also make sure to check out the Hostinger live status. 

Pictured below is the latest Hostinger performance from May-June 2018:

Downtimes: zero. None. Nada.

Since August, when we’ve descended on this server, there have been no noticeable downtimes. Naturally, there’s no better result than that. Although it has to be said – there have been reports of other Hostinger servers experiencing a hiccup or two, especially in the United States. Even then though, this hosting provider appears to be able to offer incredible reliability. We may have been lucky to be on a server like this but even then, it’s amazing.

Oh. Speaking of amazing – look at those response times! It looks like that speeds under 100 ms are a regular occurrence. For most of the time, in this tool, response times have been 200 ms or less. Even when the performance dips, response times still rarely exceed 1 second. It’s a great result that is by far the best between the hosts tested. Well done, Hostinger.

Click HERE to see Hostinger’s real-time performance, including server response times and downtimes.

Anti-Theft Protection Evaluation

This test was quite simple. I logged out of my account on Hostinger and simulated a break-in. Firstly, I’ve tried entering my password incorrectly 20 times to see if anything changes in terms of my accessibility to the account. After 20 incorrect attempts, I was no longer able to login to the account even with a correct password. It simply said that my password is incorrect. This is a very common security system which detects multiple incorrect login attempts and temporarily blocks the IP address of the user in order to protect the account against hackers. After 10 minutes of standing by, I was once again able to login to my account.

Now it’s time to see how Hostinger customer service handles sensitive security information. I have, once again, logged out of my account, and changed my own IP via VPN. I now intend to simulate an account stealing attempt by contacting Hostinger customer support and asking them to give me the account’s password without providing any valid proof of ownership. Let’s see how it goes:

And here we go, – I wasn’t able to steal my own account after all! Hostinger seems to have a strict policy of not giving away sensitive information unless you fully prove your account’s ownership using payment information.

NOTE – It would be a good idea to keep your payment information safe if you happen to lose your credentials and access to an email account.


In terms of overall performance, Hostinger has kept up with their promises and their servers seem to be capable of delivering an exceptional service. Both, the speed and uptime of this host are superb! It was extremely difficult to find any flaws about the host which also has the cheapest price tag I’ve seen in a while. I honestly never thought I’d ever say this, but Hostinger is the most honest, cheapest and reliable web hosting service. I would host my own website here.

Hostinger Reviews – Conclusion

Hostinger must be one of the biggest surprises I’ve had the pleasure of encountering. While reviewing it, I had to constantly ask myself why would anyone choose anything BUT Hostinger for their shared hosting needs. It’s the cheapest, fastest and most responsive shared web hosting platform I’ve ever tested

There are countless features which I absolutely loved. Hostinger custom-written information sources, like tutorials and knowledge base articles, were one of the highlights. The company seems to value its customers and want them to learn. Almost every tool or feature in Hostinger arsenal is custom-built, which leads me to believe that Hostinger itself was created out of pure passion. This feels like a family business, where you can meet the owner, shake his or her hand and buy some goods. Only, in this case, Hostinger actually manages to kick some butts of the big corporations. Long may it continue.

Pros

  • One of the cheapest web hosting and domain registration services in the industry.
  • Huge amount of included features & almost no upselling.
  • Visually stunning, responsive and easy-to-use account management panels.
  • Helpful and efficient 24/7 live chat customer service.
  • 100% uptime and super-fast server response time.
  • Hundreds of custom written, in-depth tutorials for web development.
  • Custom-made website builder with a large amount of free website templates.

Cons

  • No phone support.
  • No plans for dedicated servers.

Main Features

  • Best for WordPress
  • Fastest Servers

Server Locations

  • United States
  • Brazil
  • Netherlands
  • Singapore
  • United Kingdom

Server OS

  • Linux logo Linux

Leave a review

    • Pruthvish Singh portrait Pruthvish Singh
    • 2018 September 15th
    Reply
    Performance Pricing User friendly Support Features

    I have my 3 – 4 websites hosted on Hostinger myip.***o is one of them and the speed and response time is best of Hostinger. and with WordPress it is fast and loads everything faster. Best servers and live chat they always stay active and reply in approx 5 mins every time.

    • james portrait james
    • 2018 September 14th
    Reply
    Performance Pricing User friendly Support Features

    i like your free web hosting, it great, it easy to use and your service is great! please send me information, so i can donate to your free hosting service .
    thanks james

    • Tawny Wraggs portrait Tawny Wraggs
    • 2018 September 14th
    Reply
    Performance Pricing User friendly Support Features

    Perfect work you have done, this site is really cool with wonderful information.

    • Veronica Garcia portrait Veronica Garcia
    • 2018 August 30th
    Reply
    Performance Pricing User friendly Support Features

    I’ve been using Hostinger for a while and never had any issues. It’s not my first provider (3rd, to be exact) and the pricing is clear, uptime good, customer support good, no issues. I’ve just come to write an angry review about another provider (I will not say which one) and wanted to give some props to Hostinger on my way.

    • EP portrait EP
    • 2018 August 27th
    Reply
    Performance Pricing User friendly Support Features

    Had a great experience and my requests have always been fulfilled. Bought a 4year plan for just a little over 100 euros. Thank you for giving us great service for low price

      • Raul Mora portrait Raul Mora
      • 2018 September 1st
      Reply

      I want to cancel my subscription and get my 30 day back guarantee

    • Oscar portrait Oscar
    • 2018 August 23rd
    Reply
    Performance Pricing User friendly Support Features

    now that’s what i call THE BEST – queue in live chat took 18 seconds, problem solved in 4 minutes!

    • Marius portrait Marius
    • 2018 August 22nd
    Reply
    Performance Pricing User friendly Support Features

    Clean 10 stars for Hostinger. Support was fantastic! My issues were addressed instantly and the agent identified to situation and solved it in less than 10 minutes! Highly recommend to everyone.

    • steven tunnicliffe portrait steven tunnicliffe
    • 2018 August 20th
    Reply
    Performance Pricing User friendly Support Features

    poor webhosting do not host on this site it is a rip off

      • Rokas portrait Rokas
      • 2018 August 21st
      Reply

      Hi there Steven,

      We’re sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience while using our services.

      However, we would like to know what happened exactly and what made you think that. Our main priority is our Customer. Our services are being built to fulfil all their needs and expectations. That’s why we would love to know more details about what you didn’t like and what we could improve. Please contact us here , and give us more information about your situation. We can promise you that we will solve it! 🙂

      Warm regards,
      Team Hostinger

    • Eric portrait Eric
    • 2018 August 20th
    Reply
    Performance Pricing User friendly Support Features

    What brought my attention was the price during the offer – their service is dirt cheap. Not only I bought the Premium web hosting plan but paid for 2 years upfront. My boss said that its a drastic decision and I agree with him because signing a “contract” with someone for 2 years is quite a deal. But now I see that it was worth it every time! Hostinger is a web hosting professional. Going to stay with them if their performance and quality is going to stay this way.

    Big thanks from us.

    • NICK777 portrait NICK777
    • 2018 August 14th
    Reply
    Performance Pricing User friendly Support Features

    Got on the summer hosting deal! 3 bucks, I’m sorted until November and I seem to be on the lucky break, cos the servers are flying/ Happy so far, we’ll see where it goes soon.