Hostinger Reviews by Users & Experts

Overall Rating:
9.8
Reliability
10.0/10
Pricing
10.0/10
User friendly
10.0/10
Support
9.0/10
Features
10.0/10

Hostinger reviews are based on the information taken from their website, real user experience and expert insights. As stated on Hostinger website, company is created in 2004, and is known as the best cheap web hosting provider. The idea behind Hostinger is simple – to empower everyone to unlock the world of WWW by providing the tools to do so. Back then, the company found a loophole in the market and made use of it. They started off by creating a free web hosting platform 000webhost.com and quickly became the most popular free web hosting provider. This then led them to perfect their paid services, therefore, now, I can say that their shared hosting platform is made of high-quality features at the lowest price in the industry.

Their vision is to create a reliable, developer-friendly web hosting service with top-notch features, fast speed and effective Customer Support for the price affordable to everyone.

The minimum amount of money spent on marketing and staffing, allows the company to easily perfect the product and services. The company currently has over 200 employees around the world and 8 data centers.

hostinger reviews

Let’s see if any of this is true.

Hostinger Services

Hostinger essentially has 4 main web hosting services:

  • Shared web hosting
  • VPS hosting
  • Domain registration
  • SSL certificates

Hostinger shared hosting is designed to suit intermediate web hosting users who don’t feel like investing all of the budget into hosting solutions. Hostinger has their own unique cloud infrastructure which allows them to offer these services at very low prices without sacrificing any performance.

VPS Services

At first glance, Hostinger VPS hosting offers a reasonable variety of packages to choose from, each of them having a different set of features. I was hesitating right from the start because only 1 IPv4 address is provided on either one of VPS packages.

However, I must confess – I have been using Hostinger VPS user for quite some time now, and their performance has been on point right from the start.

Domain Registration

When it comes to their Domain Registrar evaluation, there is only one aspect you need to check – ICANN Accreditation list:

Hostinger reviews

This list simply confirms whether or not the domain registrar is certified or is it simply ‘reselling’ domain names from other registrars. As you can see, Hostinger has been a fully certified domain registrar since early 2013.

While surfing Hostinger website and doing its analysis, I noticed a few added value features which don’t seem to require you to pay anything extra:

Hostinger Reviews & Tutorials

Hostinger reviews

Custom written Hostinger reviews and tutorials seem like a nice tool to teach a new generation of web enthusiasts. Hostinger offers a massive list of over 500 tutorials about website development, server management, and various CMS guides. Most importantly – all of these tutorials come completely free, and you don’t even need to own a Hostinger account in order to read them.

Affiliate Program

Affiliate programs are quite common in today’s web hosting industry. Hostinger is no exception, and it seems to follow the most basic affiliate system – banners. The most distinct difference is that Hostinger offers full 100% commission for each shared web hosting purchase which definitely brings them up in the competition.

Website Builder

For such users who prefer their websites to be built with ease, custom website builder is a must. Luckily, all Hostinger packages have this feature included together with over 200 website templates. I’ve fooled around with Hostinger website builder for a bit, and while it does lack in customization options, it surely gets the job done.

Smart Domain Availability Checker

I know this may seem to be meaningless by today’s standards, but honestly – I have never seen such a great domain name suggestion tool. I was there just checking whether or not ‘awesome.com’ domain was available and it gave me a full list of even better and much more hilarious domain choices!


It’s quite clear that Hostinger designed its services for newcomers and intermediate website owners. All of the available features are perfectly suited for small project start-ups or local business owners who do not want to spend a fortune on hiring web developers separately.

It’s obvious that shared hosting service is the key product which defines Hostinger brand. This is why I’ve chosen to test one of Hostinger cheap web hosting services.

What’s included? (Pricing)

Hostinger offers three main web hosting packages to choose from:

hostinger review
  • Single – Optimal package, designed for 1 small website.
  • Premium – Intermediate package for multiple websites.
  • Business – The ultimate package suited for multiple high-traffic websites.

Now, to fully understand each one of the mentioned packages and compare them, I’ve listed all the features in the table format:

SinglePremiumBusiness
Disk space limit10GBUnlimitedUnlimited
Bandwidth limit100GBUnlimitedUnlimited
How many domains allowed1UnlimitedUnlimited
SSD or HDD used in serversSSDSSDSSD
SSLSupported, not included in the package.Supported, not included in the package.Supported, included in the package.
Anti-DDoS protectionIncludedIncludedIncluded
Anti-malware protectionIncludedIncludedIncluded
Email accountsUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
FTP accountsUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Website BuilderIncludedIncludedIncluded
Website Templates200+200+200+
Assisted Website TransferIncludedIncludedIncluded
cPanelIncludedIncludedIncluded
Auto-installerincludedIncludedIncluded
Auto-installer scripts100+100+100+
Money back guarantee30 days30 days30 days
Customer Support24/7 live chat, email24/7 live chat, email24/7 live chat, email
Choice for server locationIncludedIncludedIncluded
Free Automated BackupsWeeklyWeeklyDaily

On top of all that, all of the packages include Anti-theft security system (BitNinja) and email anti-spam tool (SpamAssassin).

Full Pricing Overview

Now, when looking at the pricing of the packages, it’s good to note that Hostinger plan prices do not change upon renewals. The prices always stay the same, no matter which package or payment period you choose.

It’s a common practice between hosting providers to display their prices in a ‘monthly’ manner. This way, those prices look much more appealing and cheaper than they actually are:

Hostinger reviews

As you can see, it simply shows you the relative monthly price, but you would still need to pay the full sum for 24 months in advance. In order to clarify the whole pricing structure I’ve put all the individual prices on this table:

Payment PeriodSinglePremiumBusiness
1 monthNot availableNot availableNot available
3 months$11.97$26.52$35.97
6 months$21.30$41.04<$65.94
12 months$39.00$70.08$119.88
24 months$68.40$116.16$215.04
36 months$77.40$138.24$286.20
48 months$103.20$167.52$381.60

*All of these prices exclude VAT, which means that if you are purchasing this service from Europe, the final price will go up by 21%.


In terms of features, you can clearly see that ‘Single’ web hosting package is the one which differs the most. It is quite limited considering that it was designed to be suited for only 1 website.

The other two packages gave me a pleasant surprise as they are fully stocked with exclusive features like free Anti-theft and Malware Protection systems, free automated backups and free assisted website transfers. Not to mention a free top-level domain if you go for the yearly subscription.

I’ve encountered countless of hosts which tend to offer these essential features as paid add-ons. Regardless, Hostinger is going all-in and giving their clients everything for the base price of the package!


As for the prices, it is quite straightforward, – you choose the package, then choose the subscription period and pay the same renewal price every X months.

If we were to compare the basic 12-month price of Premium Hostinger package with the HostGator Baby plan, which is the equivalent to Hostinger Premium, you could see a significant difference in pricing:

Hostinger ‘Premium’ package

Hostinger reviews

HostGator ‘Baby’ package

Hostinger reviews

If we were to add a domain registration plus automated backups (all of which are included in Hostinger Premium package by default), the price of Hostgator plan would go up to $147/year. It’s double the price of what you would pay for Hostinger Premium plan!

Hostinger reviews

You can clearly see that Hostinger has won me over with the full stack of features and added-value features. Now it’s time to forward and evaluate Hostinger customer service!

Hostinger Customer Success

“It’s not every day an IT customer service agent tells you the true meaning of life!”

Hostinger reviews show that Hostinger follows one of the latest trends of renaming their customer support department into Customer Success. Arguably, this makes customer service agents feel as if they could become your true ‘success ambassadors’. Cheesy, I know, but this is a proven customer support validation and improvement method used by a large number of web-based companies.

Hostinger offers two communication channels with their clients and visitors:

  • Live Chat Support
  • Ticket/Email Support

From the looks of things, Hostinger seems to be lacking in phone support. This is definitely a disadvantage when you need to acquire information urgently. Furthermore, there are definitely many users who prefer direct phone contact over anything else. As for me, though, – I prefer the live chat communication since it’s much easier to share technical information (like lines of code or even a difficult domain name) without spelling each letter to the agent. Believe me, it can get quite frustrating!

Chat Service Evaluation

When evaluating the chat service, I prefer to check their writing manners and see if agents are flexible with the answers they provide. For this part, I contacted Hostinger customer support from the main page in order to ask a few questions about the service before purchasing it:

As soon as I clicked on the live chat option on the bottom-right corner, I was put in a queue with 1 other person:

After approximately 3 minutes of waiting time, I was able to establish a conversation with an agent named Tautvydas:

It’s not every day an IT customer service agent tells you the true meaning of life! Jokes aside, it was definitely pleasant to chat with Tautvydas. His responses were fast and precise. He was flexible and has shown me a lot of empathy and compassion which created a nice welcoming vibe throughout the whole conversation. I have encountered a lot of bad customer service representatives in my lifetime, and I am glad to say that Tautvydas is not one of them!

However, not everything is ideal. As of January 2018, Hostinger has actually disabled the chat for unregistered users, meaning that likely clients will only be able to get answers via a support ticket. This went in line with the company’s Black Friday sale, which reduced the price of the services by 90% in some instances. Does this mean that Hostinger received so many new clients, they couldn’t possibly keep up with the demand? Looks very likely. As for now, it’s quite disappointing – I hope this step back in only temporary and soon we’ll see full live chat enabled for everyone who wants it.

First Impressions

“BitCoin acceptance is just another example of Hostinger being on top of their game”

Hostinger account activation procedure is quite simple. In the cart, all you’d need to do is choose your package (and domain name, if you’re getting one), then proceed to the payment submission step.

Hostinger billing system offers 3 payment options – Credit Card, PayPal and…BitCoin!

Hostinger reviews

BitCoin is becoming increasingly popular in online purchases, but you don’t see a lot of companies embracing this as a payment method. BitCoin acceptance is just another example of Hostinger being on top of their game.

As soon as you choose the suitable payment option, an external payment API shows up. It allows you to enter your credit card, PayPal or Bitpay (payment processor, which allows you to submit payment using bitcoin currency) details directly.

“My domain was already showing the default ‘index’ page within 5 minutes of entering my credit card details”

Once the payment was submitted, I was greeted with a ‘success’ window which later redirected me to the account’s setup page. There, I had to enter my contact details in order for the domain registration to complete. The last step conveniently displayed my options for setting up the initial website:

Considering the low price of this host, I was expecting to wait hours until the account became fully active. Once again, – I was greeted with a pleasant surprise.

Both, – the domain and hosting services were activated instantly and my domain was already showing the default ‘index’ page within 5 minutes of entering my credit card details. I know that even in the perfect circumstances newly-registered domains need to go through a full DNS propagation cycle before becoming active worldwide. With some registrars this could even take 24 hours! Surprisingly this wasn’t the case with Hostinger.

Now, instead of using any of the offered website building tools, I went on to check and evaluate Hostinger custom cPanel:

“Considering the fact that all the added value features were already included in the base package, there weren’t many upselling offers nagging me to buy something”

I must confess. I absolutely love the old-school cPanel structure. It seems that Hostinger took the classic cPanel layout and simply re-designed it to give more visually appealing and sophisticated look.kg

On the left side, you have the usual resource usage & specifications table which shows account’s real-time resource levels.

At the top of the panel lies navigational options for quickly accessing domain, VPS, SSL and affiliates control panels, also including the billing section where you could review the account’s current payment statuses and other related options.

In the base, you can see the hub for all the host’s features starting with email management panels, ending with ‘Git’ implementation system. All of the features are conveniently categorized and shown in order of popularity.

On the bottom-right corner, you can see Hostinger mascot – ‘the tiny dragon’, kindly offering help. At first, I thought that it was just a shortcut for accessing Hostinger live chat. But I was only partially correct:

This seems to be a separate guiding tool where you could search for informational articles about Hostinger service. If you can’t find the information you need, it offers you an option to open a chat window with one of Hostinger customer service agents.


I have to say that I was very surprised with all the sophistication and visual appeal of Hostinger control panels. They were slick, they didn’t give me any hard time of finding the things I needed, and most of all – everything was responsive and fast.

Considering the fact that all the added value features were already included in the base package, there weren’t many upselling offers nagging me to buy something. In fact, I only saw one which urged me to purchase an SSL certificate which, I think, is quite reasonable considering that websites without SSL certificates couldn’t do any marketing these days.

Performance Evaluation

“I must say, even I didn’t expect to see complete 100% uptime on a low-cost web hosting provider”

So far, Hostinger has won me over in almost every aspect with its easy-to-use & good-looking design, fast activation and responsive navigation, and most of all – best value I’ve seen in awhile.

Now it’s time for the most important Hostinger evaluation, – performance. I shall test it all:

  • Host’s speed during low upkeep
  • Host’s speed with a website created with Hostinger website builder
  • Server’s overall uptime
  • Anti-theft security evaluation

Some of the tests I will be performing will be ongoing over the course of few months, which means that this review will be updated every now and then in order to give you the latest results.

IMPORTANT NOTICE – the speed test tools I will be using in this paragraph can’t be 100% correct as they still depend on their own servers’ (access points) speeds. I have used Bitcatcha tool to check packet travel speeds all around the globe as their tool seems to be the most consistent. Furthermore, to acquire results as accurately as possible, I’ve tested the website at least 10 times in quick succession and then I’ve chosen the most average test result out of all of them to show in this review.

Host Speed During Low Upkeep

This part will consist of me, testing the website’s response time with a simple HTML website. Simple HTML websites do not require many of the host’s resources and theoretically should return the best speed results.

I’ve used Hostinger custom web-based File Manager (which frankly was quite convenient) to upload my sample html code, and here is my low-upkeep HTML website:

Hostinger HTML website performance review

Now let’s see how it holds up in terms of speed:

I used the Bitcatcha tool to check packet travel speeds all around the globe. Here are the results:

Hostinger reviews

Many hosting providers generally suffer from 2 or 3 locales underperforming so much, it ruins the overall worldwide performance by quite a bit. Most often, the locations include Bangalore and Singapre. Here, Hostinger servers are also the slowest to react to commands coming from these locations – but the times are not really bad. Under 400 ms in all instances guarantees a smooth performance to all of your visitors, even without using a dedicated worldwide content delivery network (CDN). The speed across all locations around the globe is quite consistent. This means that the servers are powerful enough to give suitable access speeds even to the far-away visitors.

NOTE – This particular account was set up on Hostinger US servers. Keep in mind that Hostinger has 4 data center locations to choose from – UK, US, Singapore and Brazil. So these values would shift accordingly with each choice.

Speed with a website builder

Now I shall test how optimized are the websites which have been built with Hostinger own website builder.

Here is the website I’ve managed to create with the builder:

Now, let’s see how the speed of the website was affected by this amazing content:

Hostinger website builder speed test

As you can clearly see, the speed wasn’t affected too much. A small drop in performance was to be expected, but a couple milliseconds is definitely not too significant.

Hostinger website builder not only allows you to edit a website to a point of madness – it will also optimize the madness for all of your worldwide needs.

Server Overall Uptime

NOTE – This section of the review will constantly be updated with new and latest information.

It is incredibly important to make sure your website isn’t down often. After all, your visitors may be alright with the page loading a fraction of a second slower – not so much with it being offline all the time! Therefore, we set up our trust Uptime Robot tool and tracked a regular WordPress website’s performance once every minute.

In addition to measuring downtimes, this tool will also be a great help in seeing just how stable the response times are. If that interests you, also make sure to check out the Hostinger live status. 

Pictured below is the latest Hostinger performance from February 2018:

Downtimes: zero. None. Nada.

Since August, when we’ve descended on this server, there have been no noticeable downtimes. Naturally, there’s no better result than that. Although it has to be said – there have been reports of other Hostinger servers experiencing a hiccup or two, especially in the United States. Even then though, this hosting provider appears to be able to offer incredible reliability. We may have been lucky to be on a server like this but even then, it’s amazing.

Oh. Speaking of amazing – look at those response times! It looks like that speeds under 100 ms are a regular occurrence. For most of the time, in this tool, response times have been 200 ms or less. Even when the performance dips, response times still rarely exceed 1 second. It’s a great result that is by far the best between the hosts tested. Well done, Hostinger.

Click HERE to see Hostinger’s real-time performance, including server response times and downtimes.

Anti-Theft Protection Evaluation

This test was quite simple. I logged out of my account on Hostinger and simulated a break-in. Firstly, I’ve tried entering my password incorrectly 20 times to see if anything changes in terms of my accessibility to the account. After 20 incorrect attempts, I was no longer able to login to the account even with a correct password. It simply said that my password is incorrect. This is a very common security system which detects multiple incorrect login attempts and temporarily blocks the IP address of the user in order to protect the account against hackers. After 10 minutes of standing by, I was once again able to login to my account.

Now it’s time to see how Hostinger customer service handles sensitive security information. I have, once again, logged out of my account, and changed my own IP via VPN. I now intend to simulate an account stealing attempt by contacting Hostinger customer support and asking them to give me the account’s password without providing any valid proof of ownership. Let’s see how it goes:

And here we go, – I wasn’t able to steal my own account after all! Hostinger seems to have a strict policy of not giving away sensitive information unless you fully prove your account’s ownership using payment information.

NOTE – It would be a good idea to keep your payment information safe if you happen to lose your credentials and access to an email account.


In terms of overall performance, Hostinger has kept up with their promises and their servers seem to be capable of delivering an exceptional service. Both, the speed and uptime of this host are superb! It was extremely difficult to find any flaws about the host which also has the cheapest price tag I’ve seen in a while. I honestly never thought I’d ever say this, but Hostinger is the most honest, cheapest and reliable web hosting service. I would host my own website here.

Hostinger Reviews – Conclusion

Hostinger must be one of the biggest surprises I’ve had the pleasure of encountering. While reviewing it, I had to constantly ask myself why would anyone choose anything BUT Hostinger for their shared hosting needs. It’s the cheapest, fastest and most responsive shared web hosting platform I’ve ever tested

There are countless features which I absolutely loved. Hostinger custom-written information sources, like tutorials and knowledge base articles, were one of the highlights. The company seems to value its customers and want them to learn. Almost every tool or feature in Hostinger arsenal is custom-built, which leads me to believe that Hostinger itself was created out of pure passion. This feels like a family business, where you can meet the owner, shake his or her hand and buy some goods. Only, in this case, Hostinger actually manages to kick some butts of the big corporations. Long may it continue.

Pros

  • One of the cheapest web hosting and domain registration services in the industry.
  • Huge amount of included features & almost no upselling.
  • Visually stunning, responsive and easy-to-use account management panels.
  • Helpful and efficient 24/7 live chat customer service.
  • 100% uptime and super-fast server response time.
  • Hundreds of custom written, in-depth tutorials for web development.
  • Custom-made website builder with a large amount of free website templates.

Cons

  • No phone support.
  • No plans for dedicated servers.

Main Features

  • Best for WordPress
  • Fastest Servers

Server Locations

  • Brazil
  • Singapore
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

Server OS

  • Linux logo Linux

Hostinger Alternatives

Full Hosting Comparison

Leave a review

    • Bhikkhu Pesala portrait Bhikkhu Pesala
    • 2018 May 24th
    Reply
    Reliability Pricing User friendly Support Features

    I have used free 000webhosting for some years after it was recommended to me. My main site is now 257 pages, and my sub site on the same domain is nearly 4,000 pages. They are very text-heavy sites, with only light traffic. Since I live on charity, the free hosting suits me, and I can tolerate the 1 hour sleep time for free hosting. Support from the community is always prompt when I do need it.

    • Pamela Jones portrait Pamela Jones
    • 2018 May 23rd
    Reply
    Reliability Pricing User friendly Support Features

    Hello I am just trying to get in touch with someone to tell them I am no longer interested in having a website. I changed my mind. I am no longer interested. So please cancel my membership or request. Please email me back at [email protected]

    • josh portrait josh
    • 2018 May 23rd
    Reply
    Reliability Pricing User friendly Support Features

    The worst excuse makers in the world. They tell me that I should locate my mail servers with zoho or gsuites because the email service that they provide really does not work for companies and is complimentary and not made for heavy use. Laughable, I send 2-10 emails a day and with them its not possible, failed to connect , timed out etc etc. I transfered over 25 website to the aholes and now Im forced to money down the drain and look for the next ahole company with the same excuses.

    • Melan portrait Melan
    • 2018 May 20th
    Reply
    Reliability Pricing User friendly Support Features

    @ hosting.review i got to be new

    • Urendras portrait Urendras
    • 2018 May 16th
    Reply
    Reliability Pricing User friendly Support Features

    Very bad hosting. No custmer care. No respect for customers

      • Rokas portrait Rokas
      • 2018 May 16th
      Reply

      Hello there, Urendras,

      We’re sorry to hear that your experiences didn’t exceed the expectations that you had.

      We would also like to remind that we as a company have our primary values and priorities, and our Customer is the most important value and priority of all!

      “Our Customer is always our starting point. We extensively research and strive to understand our Customers better. We work eagerly to earn and keep Customer trust” – that’s the key value for us!

      Urendras, we care for you and every other Customer that we have. We would like to kindly as you to contact our Customer Support and let us know about the situation that has happened. We’ll do our best to help you out, and maintain a positive and respectful friendship with you!

      We’re sure that we can work everything out if we will cooperate!

      Warm regards,
      Team Hostinger

    • Birgitta H. portrait Birgitta H.
    • 2018 May 13th
    Reply
    Reliability Pricing User friendly Support Features

    I have been using this web host for a couple of years. It´s great, it´s free, there are never any problems, its easy to use and perfect for me. I can highly recommend this host.
    Yours sincerely
    Birgitta from Sweden

    • Jennifer portrait Jennifer
    • 2018 May 11th
    Reply
    Reliability Pricing User friendly Support Features

    I am using the free hosting option right now for my artwork site and it has been a lifesaver. I like how the interface is pretty simple and I am able to easily update any pages later on. I wish that the free users could have access to the chat help desk as well but otherwise I am happy with this web hosting site.

    • Diederik Jan portrait Diederik Jan
    • 2018 April 28th
    Reply
    Reliability Pricing User friendly Support Features

    No go hosting company. Bullshits with everything and has really bad service. Be careful for this people.

      • Rokas portrait Rokas
      • 2018 April 30th
      Reply

      Hello there,

      We’re saddened to see such comments. However, we always do our best to make all of our customers happy, and you are no exception. 🙂

      In your situation, we would like to know more details on what happened, and if you could contact our Customer Success team , we’re sure that we’ll give our everything to help you out.

      Warm regards,
      Team Hostinger

    • Thomas V portrait Thomas V
    • 2018 April 25th
    Reply
    Reliability Pricing User friendly Support Features

    Hi Friends! I’m Tom from Hungary. I’ve started to use the- 000webhost- just a month ago. I’ve got a positve surprise, when the absolutely nightmare turned up for a simple and easy stuff with this page. So I am really greatful, finally I’ve got this page for our Restaurant: https://piroshaz.000webhostapp.com/en/ .
    I recommend to everyone!
    Let me to invite you to Hungary. Come and eat something unforgettable here, because 000webhhostapp just did it :))
    Thanks!
    Tom

    • Josie portrait Josie
    • 2018 April 19th
    Reply
    Reliability Pricing User friendly Support Features

    @ hosting.review Great!