TMDHosting Review

Overall Rating:
6.8
Performance
7.0/10
Pricing
5.0/10
User friendly
7.8/10
Support
8.0/10
Features
6.2/10

TMDHosting aims to be a web hosting provider for everyone. Offering a wide range of plans, it's now home for over 300,000 websites, and has servers in 6 different countries.

But do all those impressive numbers mean anything? Should you be using the services of this hosting provider, or are you better off elsewhere. Let's do a TMDHosting review and see what's what.

What is TMDHosting?

TMDHosting launched back in 2007, and with focus on speed and premium customer support, it's supposed to be one of the better shared hosting providers out there.

But the services don't stop there. As a matter of fact,  TMDHosting has a wide variety of services, including:

  • Shared Hosting.
  • VPS Hosting.
  • Cloud Hosting.
  • Reseller Hosting.
  • SSL Certificate.
  • Domain Names.
  • Dedicated Server.

That's a serious selection - it should fit both complete beginners and website development experts - and everyone in between. In this TMDHosting review, we'll be looking into its shared hosting plans, and seeing how they compare to the rest of the competition.

TMDHosting Pricing

TMDHosting Linux hosting plans are priced pretty fairly. Prices start from $2.95/month, and go all the way to $12.95/month. It's just a bit above the industry average - not too high, not too low.

TMDHosting pricing plans for Linux

Starter Plan: The Starter plan starts at $2.95/month. It only supports 1 website, but has unlimited storage space and unlimited bandwidth - as well as also supports unlimited email and FTP accounts. However, after the initial purchase period ends, the price increases to $8.95/month.

Business Plan: The Business plan package starts at $5.95/mo. It supports unlimited websites, also adds unlimited storage space, bandwidth, as well as FTP and email accounts. After the initial period ends, the price increases to $9.95/month.

Enterprise Plan: The Enterprise plan will cost you $12.95/mo. It offers the same unlimited resources as the Business plan, but also increases the server performance, caching resources, and adds a Wildcard SSL. After the initial period ends, it will cost you $16.95/month.

Obviously, the Starter plan is a perfect choice if you are on a budget and only need one website for your needs. However, the Business and Enterprise plans are good for bigger projects.

If you are thinking of managing more complex websites and need heavy traffic, paying $12.95 each month for the Enterprise plan is a good option.

Comparing to other hosting providers, these rates seem to be pretty steep - but still within reason.

Breakdown of the Prices

Before you buy, however, you'll need to know how TMDHosting billing works. The Starter plan looks extremely lucrative for a beginner and it is right on the budget.

However, to get the 60% discount you’ll have to go for the 36 months billing cycle.

price plans for domain registration

You’ll only get the discounted rate for this billing cycle. It’s a bit of a drag but still can save you a lot in the long run.

So, you see, this package can be the best deal. Although if you are not sure about it and want to check the water before diving in, then we recommend you to go for the one-month billing cycle.

Payment PeriodStarter PlanBusiness PlanEnterprise Plan
1 Month$18.90 ($9.95 setup fee)$19.90 ($9.95 setup fee)$16.95
3 Months---
6 Months---
12 Months$47.40$83.40$179.40
24 Months$94.80$142.80$310.80
36 Months$106.20--

TMDHosting Plans in More Detail

Now, let’s see how the plans look in more detail. Our TMDHosting review completed a careful research and pointed out all the particular features you might be interested in.

Let's see what they are:

 Starter PlanBusiness PlanEnterprise PlanStarter Plan (Win)Business Plan (Win)Enterprise Plan (Win)
Disk SpaceUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
BandwidthUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
How many domains allowed?1UnlimitedUnlimited6UnlimitedUnlimited
HDD or SSD used in servers?SSDSSDSSDSSDSSDSSD
SSLLet's Encrypt SSLStandard SSLWildCard SSLLet's Encrypt SSLLet's Encrypt SSLLet's Encrypt SSL
Anti-DDoS protectionYesYesYesYesYesYes
Anti-malware protectionYesYesYesYesYesYes
Email accountsUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
FTP accountsUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Website builderIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
Website templatesYesYesYesYesYesYes
Assisted website transferIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
cPanelYesYesYesNo (only Plesk)No (only Plesk)No (only Plesk)
Auto-installerIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
Auto-installer scripts200+200+200+200+200+200+
Money-back guarantee60 days60 days60 days60 days60 days60 days
Customer support24/7/365    Email,

Phone,      Tickets,    Live Chat,   Inquiry Form

24/7/365    Email,

Phone,      Tickets,    Live Chat,   Inquiry Form

24/7/365    Email,

Phone,      Tickets,    Live Chat,   Inquiry Form

24/7/365    Email,

Phone,      Tickets,    Live Chat,   Inquiry Form

24/7/365    Email,

Phone,      Tickets,    Live Chat,   Inquiry Form

24/7/365    Email,

Phone,      Tickets,    Live Chat,   Inquiry Form

Choice of server locationUSA, SG, JP, UK, NL, AUUSA, SG, JP, UK, NL, AUUSA, SG, JP, UK, NL, AUNo-USA onlyNo-USA onlyNo-USA only
Free automated back-upsYesYesYesYesYesYes

TMDHosting Pros

Now, let's have a look at the things we loved about TMDHosting. These are the main good things I've discovered in this TMDHosting review:

Decent Uptime

TMDHosting claims to provide 99.99% uptime. Does it provide that? Absolutely.

The servers were constantly up for over 99.99% of the time - and there are no big downtimes in general, just a minute or two once every few weeks. Is that good? It sure is.

60-day Money Back Guarantee

Numerous web hosting providers offer at least 30-day money back guarantee, in case you are not totally satisfied with the services. But TMDHosting gives you an extra month to think. A 60-day money-back guarantee is one of the biggest ones in the business.

Fast Customer Service

TMDHosting has a 24/7 live chat - and that's not only empty promises. The service representatives were extremely quick to respond to our queries and gave us knowledgeable responses.

One small shortcoming to remember though - if you're looking for 24/7 phone support, search elsewhere. TMDHosting phone service is available only during the U.S business hours.

Good Amount of Features and Resources

TMDHosting offers free domain names and website transfer for every customer. There's also SSD storage, and caching tools are included. Depending on what plan you choose, you'll get either basic caching, 128MB Memcache instance, or Opcache and 256MB Memcache instance.

Same goes for the SSL. For the 3 plans, you'll get an easy-to-install Let's Encrypt, Standard, or WildCard SSL respectively.

TMDHosting can be an excellent platform for newcomers. The interface and the one-click installation process will help you to complete the setup process in no time. They also provide a wide range of tutorials for your further benefit.

TMDHosting Cons

Nobody is perfect - and TMDHosting is not an exception. Let's take a look at some of the negative aspects gathered during this TMDHosting review.

Bad Response Time

While the uptime is pretty good, TMDHosting servers suffer from subpar response time. It fluctuates between 750ms-1100ms - which is far below the industry average of 400-500ms. And response time is one of the vital components of overall website speed - which is very important for both you and your users. Disappointing.

Quite Expensive

TMDHosting will charge you with a $9.95 setup fee for every plan with one-month billing cycle. And even without that, the plans are simply too expensive.

$8.95 for a plan that can only handle one website? That's far too much, and there are loads of cheap web hosting providers that can do a lot more for a lot less.

TMDHosting Review – Should You Go For It?

Overall, TMDHosting is a fairly solid option. However, it charges way too much for the things that it does. The premium features added to each of the web hosting plans are good though - and if you think you'll be using most of them, then this has a chance of being a great option.

However, there are plenty of great options to choose from, offering better performance and similar features for a lower price point. TMDHosting is good - but you can do better.

Pros

  • 99.99% uptime
  • Premium features included as standard
  • Great customer service

Cons

  • Bad response time
  • Setup fee for monthly plans
  • Expensive
TMDHosting User Reviews

  1. Mohsin picture Mohsin
    2019 May 15th
    Reply
    Performance Pricing User friendly Support Features

    Dodgy hosting company. Don’t let you cancel your terms & save your card details so you can’t remove until you add new one.
    Signs u up for auto renewal which is a very dodgy tactic. No option to choose manually.
    Would never recommend to anyone because dodgy company is not worth dealing with.

  2. Chantz Martin picture Chantz Martin
    2018 December 13th
    Reply
    Performance Pricing User friendly Support Features

    To start, I purchased hosting from TMDHosting over a year ago in hopes of running and online business. I abandoned that venture and did not use the service at all the following year.

    When I signed up to the platform, unless I dug deep into the terms of service, there was no information regarding an automatic renewal given at checkout or in the introduction email.

    Moving forward to when I cancelled the service, I saw an email stating that my card was being charged for another year of the service and since I obviously didn’t use the service I figured I would just cancel before the charges hit my account. I literally cancelled the day of the email and yet I am not allowed a refund even though I will not be using this service at all, and haven’t for a year now.

    My issue with this policy they have created, is that there is no fair notification of charges from the company before any charges occurred. I never received any emails letting me know that the account would be continuing in “X” amount of days and that I would be charged. I was only let know of this renewal after the fact.

  3. Wayne Herbert picture Wayne Herbert
    2018 August 8th
    Reply
    Performance Pricing User friendly Support Features

    Early July, 2017… I am searching for an ISP that can support my Moodle LMS application. I talk to the folks at TMD Hosting. They say they are sure they can get it running. So, I sign up.

    It turns out that, in spite of their best efforts, they cannot get it running… I can understand that… it’s a mess. But, I’ve gone beyond their 60 day money back guarantee, so I eat my year’s subscription as part of the costs of transitioning the LMS.

    Fast forward to July 2018. I get an invoice for $239.40… it’s already been charged to my credit card.

    I contact them. I tell them I’ve never used the service and that I don’t need it. I ask for a refund.

    Very snottily, they explain to me that I am beyond my 60 day guarantee, that I should have been aware of the auto renew, and that they will not issue me a refund.

    The plonkers are adamant about this. They say they sent me an invoice… maybe they did, maybe it got caught in my spam engine. Point is, they now know this renewal was done in error. Does it matter? No! They’d rather screw me out of another $240 for a year of service that I will never use, than simply say, “No problem, refund issued, hope we can help you again.”

    Then they have the temerity to add, that they “have established ourselves as trustworthy and reliable hosting company”… unless of course it has to do with anything involving your money.

    TMD takes my money and refuses a refund for unused service in advance, knowing full well the renewal was made in error… the message I get loud and clear from TMD is, “SCREW YOU!”

Get new blog posts by email: